The easiest hand made bread

IMG_0796p

Hi everyone!

We don’t usually buy bread,  I rather bake it myself, because this way I know what is in it. 🙂 No preservatives or any kind of bad stuff.

When I first started making our own bread I used a bread machine, and the recipes that came with it. But then I started looking for the hand made way to do it, because our kitchen is not so big, the machine is packed away on top of the cabinet, and it is complicated to always take it down, pack it out, and then put it away again when I don’t need it anymore.

Pinterest was a big help in this, there are tonns of recipes there. I tried many, some worked, some didn’t. But finally I found an easy, cheap recipe, which I upgraded to our needs, and it became the perfect bread recipe.

The pattern was the Jamie Oliver basic bread recipe. I started making this in every second day, because it was so great, that we ate it all quickly.

But then we minimalised our white flour consumption, so I had to adjust the bread recipe also, to fit more into our new eating habits.  I red a lot about rye and whole grain bread making, tried a lot of things, but I got the best result if I used half rye or whole grain flour, and half white for the bread.

So now I’m sharing this great and easy hand made bread with you all, I hope you will try it and love it just as much as I do.

Ingredients:

1/2 kg white flour
1/2 kg whole grain of rye flour
600 ml  lukewarm water
30 g fresh yeast (or you can use dry yeast as well, than you’ll need 3×7 g)
1 tablespoon salt (I usually use seasalt)
2 tablespoons sugar

 

All the ingredients are adjustable, you can use more of one flour and less of the other, you can use full white flour, full rye flour. The amount of the water depends on the flour mostly. some of them need more, some of them need less.

First thing to do is to put the flours into a large kneading bowl and mix it together (you can use your hand, you’ll going to use them a lot making this bread)

flours

Make a large well in the centre. Pour some of  your water into the well, then add the yeast, sugar and salt and stir with a fork.

PicMonkey Collage
Now stir it together. As you stir, bring in the flour from the inside of the well. Continue the process until you get a stodgy,  consistency – then add more water. Continue to mix until it’s stodgy again, repeat this until you’re out of water, then bring in all the flour, make the mix less sticky.

Now flour your hands and pat and push the dough together with all the remaining flour. (Certain flours need a little more or less water, so feel free to adjust here.)

Then start to knead the dough ( I usually just do it in the bowl) for 4-5 minutes until you have a smooth elastic dough.

dough2

Flour the top of your dough.  Cover the bowl with a dish towel and let it rise for about half an hour until doubled in size – ideally in a warm place. This will improve the flavour and texture of your dough.

When it’s doubled in size,  start bashing it for about 5 minutes. You can now shape it or flavour it as you want, then put it into the pan (or pans- I usually use a medium bread pan and an oven-use glass bowl) leave it to rise for a second time for 30 minutes to an hour until it has doubled in size again.

This amount of dough is enough for 2 breads I shape them like this:

let it rise

 

You also can make rolls, or baguettes out of it.
Meanwhile turn on the oven and preheat it to 180°C/350°F/gas 4

 

It is very important to rise it the second time, because now it gets the air what will be baked into the bread.
When the second rising is done, put the pans into the oven, and bake it for 25-30 minutes until its color is golden brown. To check if it’s done, tap its bottom,and if is sounds hollow, it is. Once cooked, place on a rack and allow it to cool for at least 30 minutes.

easiest

Now you can enjoy your hand made bread. 🙂

Bye until next time,

Agnes

 

Leave a Reply

